Here I Go Again

Here I go again on my own
Goin’ down the only road I’ve ever known
Like a drifter I was born to walk alone
An’ I’ve made up my mind, I ain’t wasting no more time

in the immortal words of Whitesnake.

Forgive me Father, for I have sinned. It has been 22 months since my last post (confession). I’m not even Catholic, but I am feeling very guilty.

I admit it. I totally lost my mojo in March 2017. I got complacent. I got lazy. I got back into eating bread and bread really is the work of the devil. Bread is your gateway drug to all kinds of carbohydrate-y loveliness. Bread, baguettes, scones, pancakes, crumpets, C.A.K.E. Need I go on? Best not, otherwise I will have to go off in search of carb gratification. And there is nothing in the house of that nature.

My HbA1c result in February 2017 was 39 mmol/mol (5.7%) which is within the normal parameters for someone who does not have T2. So, I got complacent. I thought, this is easy, I can do this, I can add bread-y type things back into my diet with no problem. I won’t go overboard. But I did. The weight continued to creep on little by little over the next 22 months. I knew it, but I couldn’t stop it. I had totally lost any willpower I once possessed.

I made occasional forays into keeping my weight in check in 2017 and as my next diabetes check in February 2018 loomed, I really feared what the HbA1c result might be.  I knuckled down for a few weeks from Christmas and bit the bullet and arranged my blood tests with the nurse appointment to review the results for 3 weeks later. I absolutely dreaded going back. I fully expected it to have gone back up to mid 40s and the pre-diabetic range again. You can imagine my surprise when I was told it was only 41 mmol/mol (5.9%). Only 2 points or 0.2%. It had gone up, but I was lucky, it could have gone up by so much more.

And here we are again, with the yearly blood check looming again. I had intended to knuckle down again before Christmas, then take a few days break to eat what I wanted over Christmas then get back into it for the 8 weeks and arrange my blood test for the end of February. It hasn’t *quite* gone to plan. I have been trying so hard and managed to lose 4lbs last week but then at the weekend it was my birthday and I had a big meal and my weight loss stalled again. I will be giving it my all this week and as soon as I manage to lose another 6lbs I will then make my appointment to get blood taken and really keep my head down until then.

Wish me luck.

 

Leave a comment